Get with the New

The beginning of a new year often brings renewed energy, or, at least at my age, the hope of energy. Yes, I just had a birthday and am feeling it. But life trundles on, joyous, monotonous, crazy, and unpredictable.

I have made exactly one new year’s resolution and so far I have kept it. I resolved to write a review online of every book I read in 2015. This seems doable (the most important part of a new year’s resolution.) I can write a review on my blog, or on Amazon or Barnes & Noble or Goodreads. So far I have reviewed Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas, by Stephanie Barron, Divas by Rebecca Chance, Fatal Affair by Marie Force, Murder in the Marais, by Cara Black, and Memory Man by Helen Smith. Love my female authors and kick-ass heroines.

IMG_0893We had another, more important birthday in the family in the new year, a brand new baby girl born to my son and daughter-in-law. Being a grandparent is sort of a wonderful bonus at any age, a ‘good on ya’ for somehow managing to raise your own kids. A fragile new life makes that seem all the more miraculous. How did I manage to keep my own children from harm? (Vaccinations! Helmets! Cookies!) Not only that, raise them into loving, happy men? I have no idea but my husband says it was all me so I’m going with that. 🙂

FullSizeRender-3The other new thing at our house is technology. After nearly five years and a scare over the holidays I am retiring my Macbook Pro to light duty and PhotoShop. My new workhorse is a Macbook Air, all sleek and shiny. I guess it’s time to start a new novel. Last fall I promised readers a new novella in the Bennett Sisters series before Christmas. It nearly killed me but I got it done. Unfortunately the stress of finishing just a few days before Christmas meant I had almost nothing going for the holidays except higher blood pressure. But the family came, I made a decadent chocolate creme de cassis cake, Santa came, we wore elf hats, and the stress dissolved into merriment. I think it was the chocolate!

How is the new year treating you? Keeping those resolutions? Stay warm, friends!

Author: Lise McClendon

writer, filmmaker, blogger, publisher, snow lover, sun worshiper, woman.

Leave a Reply

