The Great Book Schlep

It’s summer so I must have moved again, right? That great wind from the West is a thousand cardboard boxes getting recycled. This is the IMG_1464fourth time in ten years I’ve packed up a house and unpacked it again. Sometimes I do the packing, sometimes, like this time, I have someone else pack for me. The one thing I always pack, and unpack, myself is my books.

The first time I moved in the 10 year span I did a massive clear-out of books. I had piles upon piles, books from contests I’d judged, books I’d read and loved, books I’d bought and never read, books someone else in the household had read and I’d never actually seen before throwing them into a box.FullSizeRender 3

My only regret about that move is that my husband made me sell the massive LIFE magazine collection I had lucked into when the local library went digital. Because I write (sometimes) about the late-thirties and World War 2 years I had scored most of the 1930s and 1940s issues of the large format, fully illustrated, iconic weekly. I tucked just one away, for a book I still haven’t written: the first issue of LIFE after Pearl IMG_1479Harbor. (I have written a short story about it: SNOW TRAIN.) I also still have the first issue of The New Yorker after 9/11, the black cover issue.

Many, many copies of LIFE magazine have survived (just check on Ebay) so it’s not like I can’t track down a particular issue if I wanted to. But leafing through those issues is just golden. My parents subscribed to LIFE when I was growing up and I devoured it. Some issues are full of silly stuff like swimsuit models and college pranks. This issue contains society photos of a VMI formal of all things. But they illustrate what life was like in those times the same way, say, a week on Facebook does today. (There are also, unfortunately, scads of examples of racism and prejudice.)

FullSizeRender 6
Christmas 1941 still arrived, socks and all

So, on this move, I put my lonely copy of LIFE magazine on a shelf with lots of other books that have been schlepped hither and yon over the years. It’s funny the memories that come back when you touch and shelve a book, finding its subject mates or author mates. I will remember buying a book for instance and never getting around to reading it. Or more likely wanting very much to read it again. I made a little pile for myself as I sorted. Not too many books: that just becomes another collection in a different place.


FullSizeRender 12My husband has a large collection of books on Zen Buddhism and meditation. While I have done my share of meditating I have never been able to sustain enough interest to read an entire book about it. So I put one book on the pile. If that one doesn’t take, there are plenty of others.

I also want to re-read this scholarly book about Jane Austen. [Claudia Johnson’s Jane Austen: Women, Politics, and the Novel.] I have been fascinated with Austen since I read Pride and Prejudice in high school. I re-read the books, trying to find clues to why she is so approachable and sly, how she builds characters so effortlessly. And Rich in Love? I have such vivid memories of reading that novel [diminished somewhat by the movie] when I first started seriously writing. I burst into tears as I finished it, knowing I would never write a book so lovely, simple, and moving. A must re-read.

And lastly there is a new book, All The Light I Cannot See, given to me by my friend, Helen, who read it for a book club I used to attend with her. The sorrows of moving, leaving friends and book clubs behind. But I still have the books, my always friends.

Author: Lise McClendon

writer, filmmaker, blogger, publisher, snow lover, sun worshiper, woman.

2 thoughts on “The Great Book Schlep”

  1. I love it when people share their special reading lists, and have now added some of your books to mine. This summer, I am indulging in rereading some books I love, and slowly filling the empty bookshelves in our newly built office with books from my TBR pile.

    Your story of giving up you pile of Life Magazines reminded me of my childhood magazines. I grew up on a farm in Maine believing that I would be a grownup when I had my own subscriptions to Life, Time, The New Yorker, and National Geographic. We sadly left a zillion National Geographics behind when we cleaned out my mother’s house, and it was like leaving childhood–or a piece of life–behind. Even if you can find them again, on a disk, it isn’t the same. And yet, declutter we must.

    Kate

    1. We had a prodigious National Geographic collection too, Kate, and I subscribed as an adult for a long time. But those little suckers are heavy and they didn’t make the schlep for long. I learned so much from NG – sometimes late at night with a flashlight! 🙂 Your new office looks marvelous and so tidy! I wish I could say the same on the tidy front but it’s coming along.

Leave a Reply

